so, hello.

My name is Cara. I’m a relatively young, white, straight, cis-female adult, currently living in Texas, but about to move to Illinois in a month or so. I live with my roommate and four cats.

I’m fat, though my health is decent – good cholesterol, good heart. I’m active in fat acceptance, and strongly believe that not only does fatness have a genetic component, but I also have the novel idea that fat people don’t deserve to be bullied, and in fact deserve to be treated with the same respect as everyone else. Gasp.

I am what I would call a center-liberal, and have several opinions on politics. I loathe Republicans, and frankly, I don’t care if you think that makes me closed-minded. Not all conservatives are Republicans, and I welcome conservatives who can discuss things in a polite and respectful manner.

I am in the process of converting to Judaism. I was raised Presbyterian, but never felt at home in that church, and have called myself agnostic for many years, but then I discovered Reform Judaism. I feel incredibly at peace when I go to temple, and am doing research and reading everything I can get my hands on before beginning my classes in October.

I am also on the autistic spectrum. I received a diagnosis of Asperger’s syndrome when it was still part of the DSM-IV, but after doing some research and some pondering, I have changed to either referring to myself as “autistic” or as a “spectrumite”. I can usually pass for “normal” (whatever that means) but some days are better than others.

I’m a writer, a hockey fan, a history nerd and general geek. I love music, and right now am mildly obsessed with Animal Crossing: New Leaf. Sometimes I write about approximately Whatever I Feel Like.

I’ve had blogs before, but they’ve never quite worked out. I don’t know. I’ve never felt as though I had anything worth blogging about, really. Maybe I still don’t, but I feel more of a need to write everything down now than I used to. So this will be about fat acceptance, about politics, about Jewishness and Judaism, about autism and whatever. My opinions are my own, and if you don’t like it, too bad. If you reply to me with something really ableist/sexist/anti-Semitic/generally assholey, I will delete it and laugh at you.

If you’re wondering about the title or URL, I chose “neither high nor low” because so often, autistics are labeled high or low functioning – for example, I would be labeled high functioning by most people because I can speak, type, hold a job (sort of), drive, and other things that neurotypical or allistic (non-autistic) people can do. People like Amy Sequenzia would usually be labeled low functioning, because she cannot speak or do some of the other things I’ve mentioned. However, these functioning labels are wrong, because even so called high functioning autistics can have moments of low function. I have times when I’m nonverbal, when I can’t complete tasks alone. I have the same symptoms at that point as a low-functioning autistic, so why am I still high-functioning? Most autistics just don’t want to differentiate. We function. That’s all anyone can ask.

I was word-vomiting on a lot of blogs lately, so I figured it was incumbent upon me to at least establish my own space so I can word-vomit there. But I have a tendency to not shut up. So here I go.

Leave a Reply

